Snap Chat 

  • Posted on

    • 6 July, 2017
  • Comments

    • Comments Off on Snap Chat 

If your child uses the Snap Chat app you may be unaware of the recent update where it uses your location and plots this on a map for all to see! 

The good news: Snap Maps is technically opt-in. It doesn’t take effect until you update the app. If you’re opening the app for the first time after the update, Snapchat will walk you through a step-by-step tutorial on how to use the Snap Map. First, it’ll show you how to pinch and zoom in the camera tool to access the map. Next, it’ll ask who you want to see your location.


You get three choices: all your friends, select friends, or only me. Choosing “only me” activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode. This makes your avatar disappear from others’ maps. But remember, Snapchat’s all seeing, all knowing eyes (ahem, your phone’s sensors) can still track your location. To turn off location data altogether, you’ll need to visit your phone’s settings where you can scroll down to Snapchat, click on “location,” and choose to never share.

No Comments /

Comments on this post are now closed.